Kanchanagrrrrrri

When my mom and I began discussing her trip to Thailand with my sister Tory, she laid out a list of sights she wanted to see. On the list? Elephant ride, eating lots of Thai food, a trip to the beach. Not on the list? Tigers.

Thankfully I’m blessed with these two girls who are up for any adventure in the book. I had heard wonderful things about the Tiger Temple in Kanchanaburi, a place for rescued and orphaned tigers. The sanctuary run by monks boasts tons of camera-toting visitors and a kill-free record. Now doesn’t that slow the heartbeat a little before you go pet tigers?

Music by The Hussy’s.

4 thoughts on “Kanchanagrrrrrri

  1. With regards to the notorious Tiger Temple in Kanchanaburi, Thailand:
    Following repeated complaints from tourists and volunteers working at the temple about tigers being shockingly mistreated there, Care for the Wild International (CWI) undertook an intensive two year investigation. The resulting CWI report reveals illegal wildlife trade, animal cruelty, false conservation claims and visitor safety risks at the Temple.

    You can read the report at: http://www.careforthewild.com/projects.asp?detail=true&I_ID=580&mypage=Reports

    You can view the letter sent by the International Tiger Coalition to the Thai authorities about the Tiger Temple here:

    http://www.careforthewild.com/files/itc_letter_oct_08.pdf

    This issue has widespread media coverage:

    CWI’s press release – “Illegal tiger trade, cruelty and human health hazards at famous tourist destination”:
    http://www.careforthewild.com/files/tt_news_release%2020-06-08.pdf

    “Black market tigers linked to Thai Temple, Reports says”
    National Geographic News, 20 June 2008:
    http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2008/06/080620-tiger-temple.html

  2. Oh, I am SO jealous! I’ve been saying I want to pet the tigers for yeeeeeears. I want to hug one. Jeremy thinks I’m crazy.

  3. Aww LITTLE KITTY!! I have heard about this place on Nat Geo. I am so very happy to hear you are settling in. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

